The Calm Creative
The Calm Creative podcast
003 - Should you monetize your creative hobby?
0:00
-37:30

003 - Should you monetize your creative hobby?

The pros and cons of making a living on your art.

In this episode, I discuss the pros and cons of building a business around a creative craft or skill. I challenge the notion of “follow your passion” and “cash in on your creativity” that’s been advertised by entrepreneurs and self-help gurus since I was in my early twenties. I talk about the internalized capitalism that drives us to monetize all of our creative skills with wild abandon, and the toll that can take if we’re not careful. What we should think about before starting a creative business, and how to evaluate our business idea beforehand to determine if it’s worth pursuing. And finally, I make a case for creative hobbies in general - the kind that are shamelessly unprofitable and just for our own enjoyment. 😊

Want to leave me a message for the show?

Email me your thoughts or questions at louise@louisestigell.com or better yet, leave a voice message at www.speakpipe.com/thecalmcreative. I would love to hear from you!

About the podcast:

The Calm Creative is a podcast about making a living on your art, without burning out or going insane. With your host Louise Stigell. To get shownotes and other content via email, and join my community of creatives, subscribe at louisestigell.substack.com.

0 Comments
The Calm Creative
The Calm Creative podcast
A podcast about making a living on your art, without burning out or going insane. With Louise Stigell.