The Calm Creative
The Calm Creative podcast
Announcing: The Calm Creative podcast!
0:00
-3:10

Announcing: The Calm Creative podcast!

Here's the trailer. 🥳

If you’ve been with me for a while, you might remember that time back in April 2022 when I started a podcast. And was very excited. And had big, big plans. And released one episode. And then…had to put it on hold because other things came up and I got overwhelmed and I set the bar way, way too high for myself, and so the podcast died before it even got off the ground.

I later returned to YouTube instead, because it was what I knew and was comfortable with. It made more sense with the focus of my business back then. But the idea of a podcast has never left my mind, for those same reasons I gave in my old podcast announcement post:

“I've played with the idea of starting a podcast for quite a while, but wasn't sure if I could do it. There's so much about running a podcast that scares the living daylight out of me, like talking without a script and interviewing strangers. But. I fully believe in going where my fear takes me, because there's usually immense growth and possibilities there.

Podcasts feel like the last bastion of depth, nuance and human connection, compared to other forms of content. It's a slower, more distraction-free environment. No censorship and no puppet master in the background controlling your feed. And it's very personal and intimate, listening to someone's voice, I feel. Even more so than seeing them on video. I can relax into a podcast. I'm not skimming, fidgeting, or looking for a reason to click away, the way I tend to do with text and video. Plus, you can do other things while you listen to a podcast, so it's much easier to fit into your day in a guilt-free way. Podcasts make me almost want to cook dinner, do the dishes and go for long walks. I also love listening while I'm painting.

And honestly, I feel like a podcast is more in line with me as a person, my values, and the type of content I want to create.”

And now here I am, almost two years older and wiser. I feel more ready for this challenge now. And most importantly, I’m not going to let my perfectionism and fears take this away from me. I’m giving the podcast another go. With a new name, but with pretty much the same goal as the original one. I want to talk about all of the facets of the creative life, today. I want to share everything I’ve learned after 40 years on this earth dabbling in every creative craft I’ve ever been curious about: from music, to writing, to acting, to game development, to art, and beyond. I want to share what I know about running a creative business. And most importantly, I want to talk to other creatives, from different fields and disciplines, and hear their stories, thoughts and advice.

I really, really, want to get good at this. I want to get good at having conversations with strangers. I want to be able to speak freely without a script, and have fun doing it. But I know it will take a lot of practice, and it will feel very difficult and awkward, and I won’t like what I make, and I will probably fail in public and look silly.

Fuck it, I’m doing it anyways. My plan is to start gently and ease myself into it by doing solo episodes. And then, when I’ve “warmed up” a bit, I'll start inviting guests on. 🙈

Anyways, here’s the trailer. The first two episodes will be out soon as well, and then I plan on releasing one solo episode per week or so. These episodes will be available for everyone, for free.

Wish me luck!

0 Comments
The Calm Creative
The Calm Creative podcast
A podcast about making a living on your art, without burning out or going insane. With Louise Stigell.